Harris Hill Soaring Corporation

Elmira, New York

The Joseph C. Lincoln Memorial Award

Presented annually on Thanksgiving weekend at the Snowbird Banquet,

hosted by the National Soaring Museum

The Joseph C. Lincoln Memorial Award was established by Harris Hill Soaring Corporation, Elmira, NY in memory of Joseph C. Lincoln. whose writings about soaring did so much to get people started in the sport of soaring. His books, "Soaring for Diamonds”, “On Quiet Wings,” and "Soaring on the Wind”, as well as the many articles he wrote, are the inspiration for this award.

Joe was a major supporter of the National Soaring Museum (NSM) and soaring in general. His generous contributions to the NSM during the 1970’s made it possible to hire a Director and start construction of a new building. He also donated two sailplanes to NSM. a Schweizer SGS 2-32 and an SGS 1-23.

The Harris Hill Soaring Corporation (HHSC), in conjunction with the NSM, decided to set up the “Lincoln Award” when Joe passed away in May of 1975. Mrs. Dorothy Lincoln-Smith, Joe’s wife, was on hand to help in the awarding of the first “Lincoln Award” to Jim George for his article “Two Final Glides.” The award consists of a crystal glass cube with a flying eagle engraved on it, a 100 dollar stipend. and the honor bestowed on the author.

The criteria used to select the winning writing are:

1. Must be interesting.

2. Should be in the style of Joe Lincoln's writing.

3. Should encourage the reader to join in the sport of soaring.

4. Must be published in the English language.

Books, poems, magazine articles, newsletter articles, and other media such as DVDs, may be submitted. They must have been published between July 1 of the previous two years through June 30 of the year of the award. Entries should be presented to the awards committee by October 1st of the year of the award. Names of the recipients of the award will be announced at the annual Snowbird Contest Banquet at Harris Hill in November. The actual award will be presented at the SSA Convention when possible. Some of these works may be available through the National Soaring Museum's collections.


  Award Recipient

1975  Jim George  "Two Long Final Glides"
1976  Gren Seibels  "A Gaggle of One" - Book
1977  John Joss  "Sierra Sierra" - Book

 (no record)

 (no record)
1979  Robert Gray  "Down and Out"
1980  Geraldine Silveira  "Motel 1-26"
1981  Don Santee  "Soaring Colorado Plateau"
1982  Robert Gannon  "P.S. Editor Helps Set World Record"
1983  David Harris  "An Ordinary Day at the Field"
1984  Gren Seibels  "After All" - Book
1985  Christopher Woods  "Quiet Challenge" - Movie Script
1986  Roy McMaster  "Four on the Floor"
1986  Karl Striedieck  "Four on the Floor"
1986  John Seymour  "Four on the Floor"
1986  Robby Robertson  "Four on the Floor"
1987  Doug Jacobs  "Benediction"
1988  Paul A. Schweizer  "Wings Like Eagles" - Book
1989  Jack Green  "Sunshine and Shadows of Soaring"
1990  Charlie Spratt  "Sailplane Racing News"
1991  Sergio Colacevich  "Infinite Flight"

 (no record)

  (no record)
1993  Billy Hill  "Team Flying and Low Time Race Pilots"
1994  Scott Jenkins  "On Winter's Trail"
1995  Pat Valdata  "Just Like A Hawk"
1996  Paddy Welles  "Gramma Learns to Fly"
1997  Burt Whelan  "Cloud Dancing" - Book
1998  Sanjay Acharaya  "Soaring Ashram in the Estrellas"
1999  Paddy Welles  "As Good as it Gets"
 2000 - Silver Anniversary  Michael Bird  "Platypus Papers" - Book
2001  Gary Fogel  "Wind and Wings" - Book
2002  William E. Gallagher  "The Colditz Cock and the Great Escape Scenario." - NSM Journal Article

Starting in 2003, The Lincoln Award will be presented biennually.

 Wallace A. Scott  "The Preparation and Execution of Long Distance Flights"
2005  Juan Mandelbaum  "A Fine Week of Soaring" - DVD
2007  Dale Masters  "Soaring Beyond Basics" - Book

 John Good  “World Gliding Competition” Lusse, Germany, Feature Article





Copyright 1997, 2010 by Harris Hill Soaring Corporation